Day 56- Love Letter to Running

My Shoes 56/365

Dear Running,
When I first started with you, I’ll admit, it was for the wrong reasons. I really liked how I would look if I spent time with you; I thought that being with you would make me more attractive. But, as I got to know you, I began to love you for yourself. You make me happy when I am with you. You take me to places that I would never go alone, and make me go out, even when I’m tired and would rather not. Through you, I have met so many wonderful people, you have such a great circle of friends.
Lately, however, I’ve had to take some time away from you. I still love you just as much, but you are so strong: loving you is hard, and sometimes it hurts. This is me, not you; I was not strong enough for you. I have been spending time with others, but only to make myself stronger, so that when I come back to you we will be better than ever together.
I write this because today is our one year anniversary. One year ago today, I realized I was worthy of so much more than treadmill had to offer, and you and I met for first true time on the East River for three wonderful miles, the site of so many future assignations. Yes, I had briefly flirted with you a few years ago (for only two miles at a time), but you scared me then and I did not believe that I was worthy of you.
But that day, as I discovered the East River with you for the first time, I knew this was the beginning of something beautiful– and I was right. In the last year we have covered 800 miles together, through 9 races, and two half marathons. We have had our ups and downs, but also fantastic days, like our under-two-hour half marathon in January, and an 8.35 minute/ mile pace I would have thought impossible when we first met.
Today, as our anniversary arrives and we need to be apart, I am already dreaming of a future together, a future that includes at least a 1000 miles a year, more half marathons, a relay race, and maybe, even, a marathon.
Thank you running, for everything you have brought to my life and will in the future. Today’s picture is for you.

4 responses to “Day 56- Love Letter to Running

  1. Congratulations and happy anniversary. I know the two of you will be happy together for a long, long time.

  2. I’m so happy for you two ha!!!Don’t worry my dear Jess after a break commited relationship always will work out no matter what. We love running and for me is been the best relationship ever too.
    Congrats!!! cheers!!!

  3. Beautiful.

  4. Pingback: Day 75- Hariman State Park « 365 days of science, life, and running through it

Leave a Reply

