Day 75- Hariman State Park

Bear Mountain 75/365

In my Love Letter to Running that I posted in the middle of my injury hiatus, I complemented running for the people it had introduced me to. This never felt more true than today.

When I first came to New York, almost three years ago now, I was immediately distanced from the life-style I had had in California. There I hiked every weekend, and SCUBA dived, and went rock climbing. Here I went to bars and restaurants, knit, and shopped. I loved my NY friends, and still do, but there was an outdoors component of my life, and of me, that was missing.

Running has not only provided me with scheduled forays outdoors, even in the worst weather, but has introduced me to a whole new crowd of people. This year, with friends from running, I went snowboarding (something I haven’t done since California) and today I went hiking in Harriman state park. I have definitely been hiking since moving here, but always on a special trip, and never with NY friends.

So, one more reason to thank running– for the doors that you have opened up to me.

3 responses to “Day 75- Hariman State Park

  1. I’m so happy to hear this!

  2. Glad that you are getting back in touch with nature.

  3. Since our car was stolen, I haven’t been hiking once. How I miss the woods…

    Glad to hear you’re getting back to your roots, as it were.

Leave a Reply

