Day 98- Busy Days

Violet 98/365

Busy days!

These last few days have been an intense flurry of activity, of things recently scheduled, and thing long ago scheduled (Ragnar relay), but perhaps not attended to in a timely manner.

On Thursday evening I will head out with 5 friends in one van, and 6 friends in another, to run the Ragnar Relay race. Over 170 miles from Woodstock NY and back to NYC we will run– one at a time, switching from runner to runner and van to van. This will take us approximately 23 hours. During that time sleep will be caught on the fly, showers will be stolen from available water sources and clothes will be changed in the back of a 15 person van.

And so, as I attend to lots of work and work-related business this week, I have in the back of my mind that it will be topped off with 24 hours of no sleep, 15 miles of running, and likely not the highest quality of food.

At some moments this seems exciting and fun; at others I am getting slightly panicky at the thought that the exhaustion I am already feeling remains only to be magnified. One thing I know for sure, there will be endorphins, there will be laughter, and there will certainly be Reminder Run moments— as the sun crests during my 5am waterfront run through Muscoot County Park, perhaps. And so, when I start to wonder if I can really do everything I need to do this week and top it off with the relay, I repeat my own words to myself “that I would not have traded that moment for all the comfort in the world,” and look forward to those moments, and the associated discomforts that make them all the more worthwhile.

Leave a Reply

